The detector system of the Daya Bay reactor neutrino experiment

F. P. An, J. Z. Bai, A. B. Balantekin, H. R. Band, D. Beavis, W. Beriguete, M. Bishai, S. Blyth, R. L. Brown, I. Butorov, D. Cao, G. F. Cao, J. Cao, R. Carr, W. R. Cen, W. T. Chan, Y. L. Chan, J. F. Chang, L. C. Chang, Y. ChangC. Chasman, H. Y. Chen, H. S. Chen, M. J. Chen, Q. Y. Chen, S. J. Chen, S. M. Chen, X. C. Chen, X. H. Chen, X. S. Chen, Y. X. Chen, Y. Chen, J. H. Cheng, J. Cheng, Y. P. Cheng, J. J. Cherwinka, S. Chidzik, K. Chow, M. C. Chu, J. P. Cummings, J. De Arcos, Z. Y. Deng, X. F. Ding, Y. Y. Ding, M. V. Diwan, L. Dong, J. Dove, E. Draeger, X. F. Du, D. A. Dwyer, W. R. Edwards, S. R. Ely, S. D. Fang, J. Y. Fu, Z. W. Fu, L. Q. Ge, V. Ghazikhanian, R. Gill, J. Goett, M. Gonchar, G. H. Gong, H. Gong, Y. A. Gornushkin, M. Grassi, L. S. Greenler, W. Q. Gu, M. Y. Guan, R. P. Guo, X. H. Guo, R. W. Hackenburg, R. L. Hahn, R. Han, S. Hans, M. He, Q. He, W. S. He, K. M. Heeger, Y. K. Heng, A. Higuera, P. Hinrichs, T. H. Ho, M. Hoff, Y. K. Hor, Y. B. Hsiung, B. Z. Hu, L. M. Hu, L. J. Hu, T. Hu, W. Hu, E. C. Huang, H. Z. Huang, H. X. Huang, P. W. Huang, X. Huang, X. T. Huang, P. Huber, G. Hussain, Z. Isvan, D. E. Jaffe, P. Jaffke, K. L. Jen, S. Jetter, X. P. Ji, X. L. Ji, H. J. Jiang, W. Q. Jiang, J. B. Jiao, R. A. Johnson, J. Joseph, L. Kang, S. H. Kettell, S. Kohn, M. Kramer, K. K. Kwan, M. W. Kwok, T. Kwok, C. Y. Lai, W. C. Lai, W. H. Lai, T. J. Langford, K. Lau, L. Lebanowski, J. Lee, M. K.P. Lee, R. T. Lei, R. Leitner, J. K.C. Leung, C. A. Lewis, B. Li, C. Li, D. J. Li, F. Li, G. S. Li, J. Li, N. Y. Li, Q. J. Li, S. F. Li, S. C. Li, W. D. Li, X. B. Li, X. N. Li, X. Q. Li, Y. Li, Y. F. Li, Z. B. Li, H. Liang, J. Liang, C. J. Lin, G. L. Lin, P. Y. Lin, S. X. Lin, S. K. Lin, Y. C. Lin, J. J. Ling, J. M. Link, L. Littenberg, B. R. Littlejohn, B. J. Liu, C. Liu, D. W. Liu, H. Liu, J. L. Liu, J. C. Liu, S. Liu, S. S. Liu, X. Liu, Y. B. Liu, C. Lu, H. Q. Lu, J. S. Lu, A. Luk, K. B. Luk, T. Luo, X. L. Luo, L. H. Ma, Q. M. Ma, X. Y. Ma, X. B. Ma, Y. Q. Ma, B. Mayes, K. T. McDonald, M. C. McFarlane, R. D. McKeown, Y. Meng, I. Mitchell, D. Mohapatra, J. Monari Kebwaro, J. E. Morgan, Y. Nakajima, J. Napolitano, D. Naumov, E. Naumova, C. Newsom, H. Y. Ngai, W. K. Ngai, Y. B. Nie, Z. Ning, J. P. Ochoa-Ricoux, A. Olshevskiy, A. Pagac, H. R. Pan, S. Patton, C. Pearson, V. Pec, J. C. Peng, L. E. Piilonen, L. Pinsky, C. S.J. Pun, F. Z. Qi, M. Qi, X. Qian, N. Raper, B. Ren, J. Ren, R. Rosero, B. Roskovec, X. C. Ruan, W. R. Sands, B. Seilhan, B. B. Shao, K. Shih, W. Y. Song, H. Steiner, P. Stoler, M. Stuart, G. X. Sun, J. L. Sun, N. Tagg, Y. H. Tam, H. K. Tanaka, W. Tang, X. Tang, D. Taychenachev, H. Themann, Y. Torun, S. Trentalange, O. Tsai, K. V. Tsang, R. H.M. Tsang, C. E. Tull, Y. C. Tung, N. Viaux, B. Viren, S. Virostek, V. Vorobel, C. H. Wang, L. S. Wang, L. Y. Wang, L. Z. Wang, M. Wang, N. Y. Wang, R. G. Wang, T. Wang, W. Wang, W. W. Wang, X. T. Wang, X. Wang, Y. F. Wang, Z. Wang, Z. Wang, Z. M. Wang, D. M. Webber, H. Y. Wei, Y. D. Wei, L. J. Wen, D. L. Wenman, K. Whisnant, C. G. White, L. Whitehead, C. A. Whitten, J. Wilhelmi, T. Wise, H. C. Wong, H. L.H. Wong, J. Wong, S. C.F. Wong, E. Worcester, F. F. Wu, Q. Wu, D. M. Xia, J. K. Xia, S. T. Xiang, Q. Xiao, Z. Z. Xing, G. Xu, J. Y. Xu, J. L. Xu, J. Xu, W. Xu, Y. Xu, T. Xue, J. Yan, C. G. Yang, L. Yang, M. S. Yang, M. T. Yang, M. Ye, M. Yeh, Y. S. Yeh, K. Yip, B. L. Young, G. Y. Yu, Z. Y. Yu, S. Zeng, L. Zhan, C. Zhang, F. H. Zhang, H. H. Zhang, J. W. Zhang, K. Zhang, Q. X. Zhang, Q. M. Zhang, S. H. Zhang, X. T. Zhang, Y. C. Zhang, Y. H. Zhang, Y. M. Zhang, Y. X. Zhang, Y. M. Zhang, Z. J. Zhang, Z. Y. Zhang, Z. P. Zhang, J. Zhao, Q. W. Zhao, Y. F. Zhao, Y. B. Zhao, L. Zheng, W. L. Zhong, L. Zhou, N. Zhou, Z. Y. Zhou, H. L. Zhuang, S. Zimmerman, J. H. Zou

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

91 Scopus citations


The Daya Bay experiment was the first to report simultaneous measurements of reactor antineutrinos at multiple baselines leading to the discovery of ν¯e oscillations over km-baselines. Subsequent data has provided the world's most precise measurement of sin213 and the effective mass splitting Δmee2. The experiment is located in Daya Bay, China where the cluster of six nuclear reactors is among the world's most prolific sources of electron antineutrinos. Multiple antineutrino detectors are deployed in three underground water pools at different distances from the reactor cores to search for deviations in the antineutrino rate and energy spectrum due to neutrino mixing. Instrumented with photomultiplier tubes, the water pools serve as shielding against natural radioactivity from the surrounding rock and provide efficient muon tagging. Arrays of resistive plate chambers over the top of each pool provide additional muon detection. The antineutrino detectors were specifically designed for measurements of the antineutrino flux with minimal systematic uncertainty. Relative detector efficiencies between the near and far detectors are known to better than 0.2%. With the unblinding of the final two detectors' baselines and target masses, a complete description and comparison of the eight antineutrino detectors can now be presented. This paper describes the Daya Bay detector systems, consisting of eight antineutrino detectors in three instrumented water pools in three underground halls, and their operation through the first year of eight detector data-taking.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)133-161
Number of pages29
JournalNuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research, Section A: Accelerators, Spectrometers, Detectors and Associated Equipment
StatePublished - Mar 1 2016

All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • Nuclear and High Energy Physics
  • Instrumentation


  • Daya Bay
  • Neutrino mixing
  • Neutrino oscillation
  • Reactor


Dive into the research topics of 'The detector system of the Daya Bay reactor neutrino experiment'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this