The darkside physics program and its recent results

D. D'Angelo, P. Agnes, L. Agostino, I. F.M. Albuquerque, T. Alexander, A. K. Alton, K. Arisaka, H. O. Back, B. Baldin, K. Biery, G. Bonfini, M. Bossa, B. Bottino, A. Brigatti, J. Brodsky, F. Budano, S. Bussino, M. Cadeddu, L. Cadonati, M. CadoniF. Calaprice, N. Canci, A. Candela, H. Cao, M. Cariello, M. Carlini, S. Catalanotti, P. Cavalcante, A. Chepurnov, A. G. Cocco, G. Covone, L. Crippa, M. D'Incecco, S. Davini, S. De Cecco, M. De Deo, M. De Vincenzi, A. Derbin, A. Devoto, F. Di Eusanio, G. Di Pietro, E. Edkins, A. Empl, A. Fan, G. Fiorillo, K. Fomenko, G. Forster, D. Franco, F. Gabriele, C. Galbiati, C. Giganti, A. M. Goretti, F. Granato, L. Grandi, M. Gromov, M. Guan, Y. Guardincerri, B. R. Hackett, K. Herner, E. V. Hungerford, A. Ianni, I. James, C. Jollet, K. Keeter, C. L. Kendziora, V. Kobychev, G. Koh, D. Korablev, G. Korga, A. Kubankin, M. Lissia, X. Li, P. Lombardi, S. Luitz, I. N. Machulin, A. Mandarano, J. Maricic, L. Marini, S. M. Mari, C. J. Martoff, Y. Ma, A. Meregaglia, P. D. Meyers, T. Miletic, R. Milincic, D. Montanari, A. Monte, M. Montuschi, M. Monzani, P. Mosteiro, B. J. Mount, V. N. Muratova, P. Musico, J. Napolitano, A. Nelson, S. Odrowski, M. Orsini, F. Ortica, L. Pagani, M. Pallavicini, E. Pantic, S. Parmeggiano, K. Pelczar, N. Pelliccia, S. Perasso, A. Pocar, S. Pordes, D. A. Pugachev, H. Qian, K. Randle, G. Ranucci, A. Razeto, B. Reinhold, A. L. Renshaw, A. Romani, B. Rossi, N. Rossi, D. Rountree, D. Sablone, P. Saggese, R. Saldanha, W. Sands, S. Sangiorgio, C. Savarese, E. Segreto, D. A. Semenov, E. Shields, P. N. Singh, M. D. Skorokhvatov, O. Smirnov, A. Sotnikov, C. Stanford, Y. Suvorov, R. Tartaglia, J. Tatarowicz, G. Testera, A. Tonazzo, P. Trinchese, E. V. Unzhakov, A. Vishneva, B. Vogelaar, M. Wada, S. Walker, H. Wang, Y. Wang, A. W. Watson, S. Westerdale, J. Wilhelmi, M. M. Wojcik, X. Xiang, J. Xu, C. Yang, J. Yoo, S. Zavatarelli, A. Zec, W. Zhong, C. Zhu, G. Zuzel

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review


DarkSide (DS) at Gran Sasso underground laboratory is a direct Dark Matter search program based on Time Projection Chambers (TPC) with liquid Argon from underground sources. The DarkSide-50 (DS-50) TPC, with 150 kg of Argon is installed inside active neutron and muon detectors. DS-50 has been taking data since November 2013 with Atmospheric Argon (AAr) and since April 2015 with Underground Argon (UAr), depleted in radioactive 39Ar by a factor ∼ 1400. The exposure of 1422 kg d of AAr has demonstrated that the operation of DS-50 for three years in a background free condition is a solid reality, thanks to the superb performance of the Pulse Shape Analysis. The first release of results from an exposure of 2616 kg d of UAr has shown no candidate Dark Matter events. We have set the best limit for Spin-Independent elastic nuclear scattering of WIMPs obtained by Argon-based detectors, corresponding to a cross-section of 2 10-44 cm2 at a WIMP mass of 100 GeV. We present the detector design and performance, the results from the AAr run and the first results from the UAr run and we briefly introduce the future of the DarkSide program.

Original languageEnglish (US)
JournalNuovo Cimento della Societa Italiana di Fisica C
Issue number4
StatePublished - Jan 1 2016

All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Physics and Astronomy (miscellaneous)


Dive into the research topics of 'The darkside physics program and its recent results'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this