Physics design of the National Spherical Torus Experiment

Stanley M. Kaye, Masayuki Ono, Yueng Kay Martin Peng, Donald B. Batchelor, Mark D. Carter, Wonho Choe, Robert James Goldston, Yong Seok Hwang, E. Fred Jaeger, Thomas R. Jarboe, Stephen Jardin, David Johnson, Robert Kaita, Charles Kessel, Henry Kugel, Rajesh Maingi, Richard Majeski, Janhardan Manickam, Jonathan Menard, David R. MikkelsenDavid J. Orvis, Brian A. Nelson, Franco Paoletti, Neil Pomphrey, Gregory Rewoldt, Steven Sabbagh, Dennis J. Strickler, Edmund Synakowski, James R. Wilson

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

82 Scopus citations


The mission of the National Spherical Torus Experiment (NSTX) is to prove the principles of spherical torus physics by producing high-βt plasmas that are noninductively sustained and whose current profiles are in steady state. The NSTX will be one of the first ultralow-aspect-ratio tori (R/a ≤1.3) to operate at high power (Pinput up to 11 MW) to produce high-βt (25 to 40%), low-collisionality, high-bootstrap-fraction (≤70%) discharges. Both radio-frequency and neutral beam heating and current drive will be employed. Built into the NSTX is sufficient configurational flexibility to study a range of operating space and the resulting dependences of the confinement, micro- and magnetohydrodynamic stability, and particle- and power-handling properties. NSTX research will be carried out by a nationally based science team.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)16-37
Number of pages22
JournalFusion Technology
Issue number1
StatePublished - Jul 1999

All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • General Engineering


Dive into the research topics of 'Physics design of the National Spherical Torus Experiment'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this